Happy 130th Birthday, Pablo Picasso

Pablo Picasso in his studio

“My mother said to me, ‘If you are a soldier, you will become a general. If you are a monk, you will become the Pope.’ Instead, I was a painter, and became Picasso.”
*
*
130 years ago today in Málaga, Spain, Baby Picasso made his debut onto the world stage. Little did his mama know her bundle of joy would rock the art world to its core, yet here we are, decades later, still in awe of his work. It amazes me, as I look through my own Picasso collection (well, my collection of photos of other people’s Picasso’s!) how intensely their presence impacts the mood of a room. Clearly, although the artist is gone, the art lives on.
Happy 130th Birthday, Picasso!
Designed by William Hodgins for Architectural Digest. Hanging above the fireplace is Picasso’s “Femme dans l’Atelier”

Designed by Marie Burgos for Elle Decor

Designed by Stephen Sills and James Huniford for Architectural Digest

Designed by Christopher Maya for House Beautiful. Hanging above the fireplace is Picasso's "Woman In Armchair"

Designed by De La Torre Design Studio featuring Picasso's "Tete de Femme"

Designed by Richard Hallberg for Veranda Magazine

The Astor Bar at the St. Regis Hotel in Singapore displays several original lithographs from Picasso's "Toro" series

Leave a comment